Connect with us


5G services have started in 50 towns of 14 states/ UTs

5G News

Telecom Service Providers (TSPs) have started providing 5G services in the country from 01.10.2022 onwards and as of 26.11.2022, 5G services have started in 50 towns distributed over 14 States/ Union Territories.

As per the NIA for auction of access spectrum and license conditions, the minimum rollout obligations are required to be met over a period of five years in a phased manner from the date of allocation of spectrum.

In order to facilitate the faster and smooth rollout of telecom network (including 5G) and expansion of telecommunication infrastructure in the country, the Government has taken the following policy initiatives:-

  • Making sufficient spectrum available for mobile services through an auction
  • Allowing spectrum sharing and trading
  • Removal of additional Spectrum Usage Charge (SUC) of 0.5% for spectrum sharing
  • Allowing sharing of infrastructure by the TSPs
  • Notifying Indian Telegraph Right of Way (RoW) Rules, 2016 dated 15.11.2016 for regulating underground infrastructure and overground infrastructure and amendments (including Indian Telegraph RoW amendment rules, 2022) thereof.

CT Bureau

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2024 Communications Today

error: Content is protected !!