Connect with us

International Circuit

T-Mobile announces new president of technology

T-Mobile US has named chief network officer Ulf Ewaldsson as president of technology. His predecessor, Neville Ray, is to retire from the role later this year.

Outgoing president Ray has been at T-Mobile for more than 23 years; he took over as chief technology officer in 2010 and became president of technology in 2019. He previously held roles at Pacific Bell Wireless and Western Wireless Corp subsidiary VoiceStream Wireless subsidiary, which was acquired by Deutsche Telekom in 2001 and renamed T-Mobile USA.

“Under Neville’s network leadership we have accomplished so much together, and it’s amazing to think that milestones he’s helped T-Mobile achieve – the many network firsts, breakthroughs, and innovations – have brought us to where we are today, taking the crown as the nation’s overall network leader,” said T-Mobile CEO Mike Sievert.

Ewaldsson joined T-Mobile in 2019 as SVP of technology transformation. He was previously at Ericsson for 12 years, holding multiple roles culminating as advisor to the CEO. As CNO at T-Mobile, he led a nationwide field team responsible for build, operation, and maintenance of T-Mobile’s network.

“This has been a thoughtfully planned succession and I am thrilled we have an excellent leader in Ulf Ewaldsson to lead our Technology teams. When Ulf joined T-Mobile four years ago, he brought years of experience and deep network strategy leadership capabilities that allowed him to hit the ground running and bring our leading 5G network to life. That’s exactly what he did – and what he will continue to do as President of Technology, leading the best team in our industry,” Sievert continued. Data Center Dynamics

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2024 Communications Today

error: Content is protected !!