Connect with us




The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has appointed Anita Praveen as additional secretary, Department of Telecommunications (DoT). Praveen, an IAS officer of the 1989 batch Tamil Nadu cadre, has been working as an additional secretary and finance advisor in the Department of Posts.

Amur Swaminathan Lakshminarayanan has been appointed as the MD and CEO of Tata Communications. Prior to this, Lakshminarayanan was president and CEO of TCS, Japan.

The National Company Law Appellate Tribunal has restored Cyrus Mistry as executive chairman of Tata Group. Mistry, who was appointed as the sixth chairman of Tata Group in 2012, was ousted following a boardroom coup on October 24, 2016.

Raj Yavatkar has been appointed as CTO, Juniper Networks. Yavatkar is currently an IEEE Fellow and previously headed the development of network virtualization infrastructure and products for cloud networking at Google.

Dr Nanda Kambhatla has been appointed as head, research team, Adobe India. Previously, he was the VP of Enterprise AI at Symphony AI.

Sanjay Gupta has been appointed as country manager and vice president of sales and operations, Google India. Prior to Google, he was the MD at Star India.

Stream Data Centers has named Chad Rodriguez as its vice president of network and cloud.

Tony Berland has been appointed as the CEO and managing director, Legrand Group, India. Berland takes over the reins from Thuard.


Stephanie Werner has been promoted as chief human resources officer, Nokia effective January 1, 2020. Hans-Jürgen Bill, current chief human resources officer, Nokia, will retire in May 2020.

Sundar Pichai, CEO, Google, has been appointed as CEO of parent company Alphabet as founders Sergey Brin and Larry Page stepped down from active roles.

Jonathan Oxley has been appointed as interim chief executive, Ofcom. He succeeds Sharon White who left end-November.


Nokia Chairman, Risto Siilasmaa, who served as the company’s interim CEO from 2013 to 2014, is set to step down in April 2020 and is likely to be replaced by Sari Baldauf.

Anshoo Gaur, chief executive, software and Ayush Sharma, head, programmable networking and intelligence, of Sterlite Technologies have left the company.

Zee Entertainment Enterprises Ltd. chairman Subhash Chandra stepped down from his position. The board of ZEEL was also reconstituted with the appointment of three new independent directors, R. Gopalan, former Finance Secretary; Surendra Singh, a retired officer of the Indian Police Service, and Aparajita Jain, a professional with experience in contemporary arts.

Reliance Group chairman Anil Ambani has resigned as the director of Reliance Communications (RCom). Chhaya Virani, Ryna Karani, Manjari Kacker, and Suresh Rangachar have also resigned from the post of director. The resignation of Manikantan V and appointment of D. Vishwanath as executive director and CFO has been put up to the Committee of Creditors [COC] for their approval.

John Legere, CEO, T-Mobile US Inc., will step down next year. Legere will remain CEO until April 30, and will be succeeded by president and COO, Mike Sievert. Legere will continue to be a member of T-Mobile’s board.


Microsoft’s India-born CEO, Satya Nadella, has occupied the top spot in Fortune’s Businessperson of the Year 2019 list, an annual compilation, that also includes Mastercard CEO, Ajay Banga, and Arista head, Jayshree Ullal.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2024 Communications Today

error: Content is protected !!